top of page
  • PR 1/23/2017


Tommy Rustad will stay with Albatec Racing for a second successive season in his bid to retake the FIA European Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy. The Norwegian former Euro RX champion will pilot the HTB Racing Peugeot 208 RX Supercar that powered him to victory in the final round in Latvia last year.

“I’m delighted to be staying with Albatec for 2017", said Rustad, " in what promises to be a very exciting European series on some of the best rallycross tracks. The last round victory in Latvia showed that together we are now in a strong position and I’m confident that with a full season behind me we can start the year as a serious contender for the title. Continuity is very important; we’ve already built a very good, strong relationship across the entire team, and I’m pleased to be able to take that through into 2017.” The experienced racer, boasting more than 120 race wins across an illustrious career in touring cars, single seaters and rallycross, scored three podium finishes last year on his way to fourth overall aboard the team’s two litre, 16v supercar. Tommy will join Finnish teenage sensation Jere Kalliokoski in the Andy Scott-led team which has secured the runner-up spot for the last two years, and looks to bring the coveted crown to Dumfries for the first time.

Team Principal, Andy Scott, commented on the ongoing partnership between Albatec and Rustad. “I’m thrilled that Albatec has retained the services of arguably the most experienced driver in Euro RX and I’m very much looking forward to working with him again in 2017. We built a strong relationship last year, netting three podiums and victory in the final round, so we head into this season feeling ready for the challenge ahead. Tommy’s commitment to the team confirms his belief that Albatec has what it takes to deliver the championship.” The opening round of Euro RX gets underway in Barcelona, Spain over the weekend of 1/2 April. Subsequent rounds take place in Norway (Hell) 10/11 June, Sweden (Höljes) 1/2 July, France (Lohéac) 2/3 September and Latvia (Riga) 16/17 September.

bottom of page