top of page
  • British RX Press Release


6th June 2022

Championship leader Patrick O’Donovan claimed victory in the sixth round of the Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship 5 Nations Trophy at Mondello Park, leading a one-two finish with his father Ollie.

The second day of action at the Irish Circuit was held in wet conditions, with the final led from the opening corner by Ollie O’Donovan, driving Team RX Racing’s Ford Focus, ahead of team mate Patrick O’Donovan (Ford Fiesta) and local driver Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta).

Tohill pressured the younger O’Donovan early in the race, before taking his joker on lap two, O’Donovan responding on lap three, returning to the main circuit ahead of his title-rival.

Ollie O’Donovan took his joker later in the race and retained the lead, but in a race to the finish line, Patrick O’Donovan took the advantage to claim a third 5 Nations BRX win.

Reigning champion Tohill finished third, with six-time title-winner Julian Godfrey (Ford Fiesta) fourth, 2006 champion Christopher Evans (Citroen C4) fifth and Steve Hill (Mitsubishi Evo) sixth.

Motorsport UK Supernational Rallycross Championship

Lotus Exige racer Paige Bellerby overtook championship leader Jason Bleasdale (Vauxhall VX220) in the first corner of the final but ran wide at the same point later in the race and lost the position. However, when Bleasdale tried to overtake Irish contender Peter McGarry (Volvo C30) around the outside on lap five, Bellerby seized the opportunity and took the position. She finished top of the 5 Nations BRX runners, ahead of Bleasdale.

Motorsport UK Junior Rallycross Championship

Max Langmaid followed his round five victory by taking all three qualifying races in round six, before winning the final by a near four-second margin. Max Watt claimed second with Will Ovenden third. Owen Robbins finished fourth, meaning that Langmaid and Robbins are now tied on points at the top of the table.

BMW MINI Rallycross /ALL4 MINI Championships

Bradley Turner made the best start in the final but Dave Bellerby, who topped qualifying and won his semi-final, found a way up the inside in turn one to take the lead. Turner immediately took his joker lap and wound up third, behind Bellerby and semi-final two winner Tom Constantine. David Bell made it two from two in the ALL4 Mini division ahead of Martin Hawkes.

Swift Sport Rallycross Championship

Former Junior Rallycross Champion Luke Constantine was one of three drivers to claim a fastest time in qualifying, along with Max Weatherley and James Constantine, but it was Luke Constantine who led from the front in the final to make it a double-victory weekend. Weatherley mitigated the points loss by finishing second, while James Constantine was third.

RX150 Rallycross Championship

Rally driver James Williams qualified second on the grid for the final and made the best start to lead from the front and claim victory in his first rallycross weekend. Making his debut in round six of the championship, former Junior RX racer Tom Ovenden secured second place after a late call up, while series regular Ben Hardy finished third, continuing a strong run of podiums in his first season.


bottom of page